Toot Your Horn

I think this becomes easier when I think of it in the context of what do I do better than most others in my peer group that try the same thing.

Imagine a large hall filled with people. Its standing room only. They have been there for a while and are getting listless and tired. The afternoon seems to be really long. And then, a speaker comes on stage and the place is electrified. Everyone is hanging onto every word. They are listening, they are engaged. šŸ˜‰ Sometimes, I can do that !!!

There’s a meeting going on and the speaker drones on and on. He is thinking as he speaks. So the thoughts are disjointed and incoherent. And then someone nets out what has been said succinctly and clearly and everything becomes crystal clear. Sometimes I can be that second person.

But the thing that makes me proudest is this. I am very good atĀ inspiring talented engineers to achieve things even they thought were impossible. I am good at bringing out the best in lots of people.

I sincerely believe that everyone has something powerful to contribute. And I treat most people that way. It gives me great pleasure to see them go from a shy, slightly unsure person into one that operates with confidence pushing out of their comfort zone.

And I am able to help them identify what they need to work on, to help them identify where they made a difference and the showcase and package their story such that they blow the competition away. I have done that over and over again and built a formidable group of engineers. That is what makes me feel good about myself.

Now was that loud enough ?

Toot Your Horn

Leave a Reply

